Dr. / Prof. Eon Nigel Harris

Dr. / Prof. Eon Nigel Harris

Professor Eon Nigel Harris served as Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies (UWI) from October 1, 2004 to April 30, 2015 and on his retirement was named Vice Chancellor Emeritus.  A Guyanese by birth, Professor Harris now serves as Chancellor of the University of Guyana. Professor Harris graduated magna cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa from Howard University, with a degree in Chemistry and proceeded on a fellowship to Yale University, where he received a Master of Philosophy degree in Biochemistry. He earned his medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania, completing this within three years and again graduating with honours.

He then returned to the Caribbean where he completed his residency in internal medicine at the University of the West Indies at Mona and was awarded the post‐graduate degree, Doctor of Medicine (DM). He is internationally known for his work as a Rheumatologist.  With Doctors Aziz Gharavi and Graham Hughes in London, he helped to define a disorder which they called the Antiphospholipid Syndrome and devised a diagnostic test (the anticardiolipin test) for it. For this work he shared with Dr Graham Hughes, Dr Aziz Gharavi and others, the Ceiba‐Geigy Prize. Over 150 papers, editorials, reviews and chapters on this subject have been published by Professor Harris.

He joined the University of Louisville, Kentucky, in 1987 and by 1993 became Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Rheumatology. There he launched the Antiphospholipid Standardisation Laboratory which leads worldwide efforts in standardisation of the anticardiolipin test and distributing these standards to over 500 laboratories worldwide.   He was one of the initial organizers of a series of International Conferences on Antiphospholipid Antibodies, beginning in 1984 and held every two years since in Europe, Jamaica, the USA and Japan.

Our Board of Directors 2018 / 2017

2016 - 2017

Previous Executive

President - Dr. Amanda King
Vice President - Dr. Christophe Deligny
Secretary - Dr. Sharon Dowell
Treasurer - Dr. Lynda Tilluckdharry

Other directors were 

Dr. Marie Grandison-Didier and Dr. Cleopatra Altenor

Caribbean Association for Rheumatology
Bay Medical Centre
P.O. Box GM712
Castries | Saint Lucia

send us a message